Star Badge

Star is a rank attainable by a Scout in the Boy Scouts of America (BSA), and ranks above First Class and below Life Scout. Star is awarded when the Scout serves actively in the troop, team or crew, serves in a position of responsibility for at least 4 months, performs at least six hours of community service, and earns six merit badges (four of which must be required forEagle Scout rank).

Historically, Star was actually higher than Life. It was changed when it was decided that the five-pointed star of Star Scout better represented the five merit badges required for Life Scout, and the two were switched.

In order to receive this rank you must complete:

  1. Be active in your troop and patrol for at least 4 months as a First Class Scout. 
  2. Demonstrate scout spirit by living the Scout Oath (Promise) and Scout Law in your everyday life. 
  3. Earn 6 merit badges, including 4 from required Eagle list.
    ___________________________________(required for Eagle)
    ___________________________________(required for Eagle)
    ___________________________________(required for Eagle)
    ___________________________________(required for Eagle)
  4. While a First Class Scout, take part in service projects totaling at least 6 hours of work. These projects must be approved by your Scoutmaster. 
  5. While a First Class Scout, serve actively 4 months in one or more of the following positions of responsibility (or carry out a Scoutmaster-assigned leadership project to help the troop):  
    • Patrol leader, 
    • assistant senior patrol leader, 
    • senior patrol leader, 
    • troop guide, 
    • Order of the Arrow troop representative,
    • den chief, 
    • scribe, 
    • librarian, 
    • historian, 
    • quartermaster, 
    • bugler,
    • junior assistant Scoutmaster, 
    • chaplain aide, or
    • instructor.
  6. Take part in a Scoutmaster conference 
  7. Complete your board of review.